top of page

Horses? Yes, you can!

Preface: This will be a look back at my families journey in the horse industry. We are squarely in the middle of middle class. I am writing this for the purpose of being educational; the path my family has followed could easily translate over to any middle class family, regardless of experience. It is possible, however all things worth doing are not without challenges. I am a mother of three and Wife to all green horns.


Above all, I am a proponent of horses enriching everyone's life, no matter the breed, discipline or level of involvement. I have no tolerance for internal bickering and bashing; all horses and disciplines are loosing the battle to technology or 'easier' mainstream hobby's.


Horses?! Yes, you can.


Personally I have a life long experience and involvement with horses, Grandfathers Ranch horses, Trail riding, 4H, Rodeo, Speed events, Parades, Pony express, Open Shows, Fun shows, Breed shows, show groom...Breeds of horses offer the same variety. I am not perfect, I do not and will not ever know everything.


2014 was the start of the newest most exciting, most turbulent, and most satisfying horse journey. Only fives years removed from my last show.


Eagerly I anticipated the move to NC, my horse breed of choice the American Saddlebreds (ASB), was and still is wildly abundant. I enrolled my daughter (6) and step son (10) into a local lesson program. This lasted for a short time, life happened. My step son loss interest, however my daughter appeared to be a natural, not without her own challenges. She went on to spend the summer with my sister in Utah, continuing lessons with a 'Rodeo Queen' in southern desert.


Life happened some more, I gave birth to my youngest in early 2015, and quit my IT career to raise her. Soon my family (less the baby), were in a tech screen obsessed rut. Computers, tablets, phones, game consuls and TV's filled our entire house, even spilling out into the carport. Our older kids were involved in some extra curricular activities/sports, some football, dance, swimming, singing and soccer. After every brief outing we always returned home to settle into the screen of choice. I think the boiling point or epiphany for me was that I was the only one willing to the mow the lawn...out of frustration with several weeks over growth.


My mother passed in the fall of 2016, with death comes reflection and change. A month later I contacted Harrison Shiflet Stables, enrolled my now middle daughter (8yo) into lessons early spring 2017. I was still not working, so the lessons required financial discipline on my behalf; gardening, canning, and regular home cooked meals to compensate. As a bonus this long run of fresh home cooked food played a hand in my eldest son completely turned off of fast food.

As a parent I had to be dedicated to my child's lessons, not for an inner desire to live vicariously through

my daughter. I look back at my life with satisfaction, I did the best with what I was given.


Consider an 8yo given the choice:



  1. Stay at home with a tablet/TV or

  2. go out into the extreme hot/cold to learn to ride a horse.



My girl still is all about the path of least resistance.



2018 Rang in many firsts. ASAC Spring Show made an official show mom! Prior to her first show she had about 2 weeks of as many lessons as my pocket book could handle. Prep conditioning, muscle memory, it appeared to pay off. I would also prepay for the shows as far as advance as possible. (Still was not working at this time.)


Long before the show I researched what was trending, what little tweaks would help her, (note the shiny helmet). After having watched many recent academy classes, (Thank you RVP!) I noticed the judge would tie riders with high shine, please note bringing attention to your rider also requires a near spotless performance. Saddle seat is also about conservative by definition, a thoughtful balance is needed. Remember this was 2017-2018 trends always change.



Looking back, I teared up when I saw my daughter brightly smiling in the show ring, doing the very best with what she was given.



She was competing in Academy walk trot 10 and under. At this time 6 riders was the max in the right for her class, so it was split. The local rules in the Carolina's have changed. Academy means she is riding the trainers horse. The cost of the show is split between all the Academy riders using the same horse. The number of exhibitors per horse is dependent on the horses age, mentality and health. The mare pictured to the left and above, if memory serves, the Shiflet's only allowed a max of 3 riders/drivers for her.


Coming off the high of ASAC my daughter went onto blowing rock same classes.


May continue the blog......


Its not about the destination but the journey, we are not done yet.

コメント


bottom of page