top of page

We NEED the middle class back.

Only in Saddle Seat


Spring of 2018 I attended the Blowing Rock horse show. My daughter was in the academy class, and I was with a horse barn. However I consciously decided to sit in the grand stand, with the audience of general spectators.


A large adult 5-gaited pleasure class took the ring. The audience buzzed about who was their favorite. As the class picked up and the rack was called; clearly a few of the smart riders grandstanded for the audience, only met with waves of an applauding crowd. My words pay little to how exciting this was to be a part of.


For the 3 hours of performance classes I quickly realized the grand stand audience (about 20 people with in ear shot), all had zero ties; no relation to any exhibitors, horses, barns nothing. These people had paid $5 each just to watch a horse show.


Three grandmothers that were in front of me, awed at all of the riders and horses. Back and forth about, 'how they would love to do that,' or 'I wish my grand-kids would do that.' Being aware of the industry, yes, the little old lady's could. Yes, their grand-kids can. What is this impenetrable vale between the horse barns/trainers, and new blood to our industry?


“...horse ownership appeals to many different types of people and is not

limited to the rich. The almost 2 million American horse owners are drawn from a

wide range of back grounds and demographics, with 28% of horse owners earning over $100,000 annually and 34% of horse owners having an annual household income of less than $50,000.


The economic diversity of the American horse owner disproves the commonly held belief that significant wealth is a prerequisite for horse ownership. The largest group of horse owners (45%) are drawn from the middle class with an annual household income between $25,000 and $75,000. Only 9% of the population earns greater than $150,000 yearly and a full 11% of horse owners have an annual income of less than $25,000.” Source 2018


Lets looks at the case of cost parallels Dance vs SaddleSeat academy – the same demographic of young girls 7-15 could easily be pulled away from Dance; not to mention a wide range of other middle class extra circular activities; gymnastics, acting, music, art ect.


Dance Saddle Seat

Private lesson: $49-95 $30-45

Competition Solo: $450 $400.00

Attire per use: 1 time each competition performance

$30x $200 per season


Same evaluation can be made with the above other mentioned activities, academy is realistic for middle class spending.


The only conclusion I can draw is that our middle class is unaware. I have spoke with 3 people directly that did not know about saddle seat academy all three requested further information. I only provided a trainer reference for one of these 3 people, they had started and stuck with lessons for about a year. Yes this is very low, but I do not talk to non-horse people about my horse activities-I suspect many of us are like this. Also I do not like offering a blind reference, eg why 2 of the 3 did not get a reference from me – I was not far enough along at my horse barn to feel good about this.


Open questions to the community, why has no one provided some sort of contact for the general audience? Is this allowed? Is there some measure preventing giving people a handout brochure? Was this done in the past, and proved unsuccessful? Why not offer a program for horse shows that see an outside audience, show case all of the trainers, services offered, and upcoming horse shows.



Whilst bickering about the loss of ASB ownership and participation. Evaluate the why, as well as realistic solutions.


I will lay the foundation for a change in business plans for the trainers / teachers with in the ASB industry.

Comments


bottom of page